Mental Help Net
Basic Information


This center contains a series of informative articles that discuss the new DSM-5. Because we are committed to providing the most current, contemporary, and relevant educational resources, we have been actively preparing for DSM-5 over the past several years. Our proactive approach enables us to align our library resources with the conceptual framework, language, diagnostic criteria, and organizational structure of the new DSM-5. We started making changes in 2012 based on drafts and will continue to make updates and revisions throughout 2013.

Overview of changes found in DSM-5:

There has been a great deal of mystery, excitement, and uncertainty about much anticipated release of DSM-5. In December 2012, the APA Board of Trustees voted to approve the new DSM-5. The DSM-5 was unveiled at the American Psychiatric Association’s National Conference in May 2013. Copies were available to the...


Fast Facts: Learn! Fast!

What changes were made in the DSM-5?

  • The new DSM-5 will consist of three sections. Section I provides instructions on how to use the manual. Section II delineates the categorical diagnoses with a new organizational structure that eliminates the multi-axial system and instead follows a life-span, developmental progression and organization. Section III will include conditions suggested for further research, a dimensional alternative for several diagnostic categories, as well as cultural and other contextual information.
  • Changes to Childhood Disorders - A new category of disorders is called Neurodevelopmental Disorders. Many (if not most) of the disorders that were previously classified as, “Disorders Usually First Diagnosed in Infancy, Childhood, and Adolescence” are now classified as Neurodevelopmental Disorders. However, there are some significant changes.
  • Depressive and Bipolar Disorders - Aside from reclassification, the changes to bipolar disorder are relatively minor, and primarily conceptual in nature.
  • Schizophrenia Spectrum and Other Psychotic Disorders - The DSM-5 has added the word, “spectrum” to the title. The same basic diagnoses are still available in the DSM-5. Some symptom criteria were changed to make diagnosis more accurate and precise. Perhaps the most substantial change to this category of disorders is the elimination of subtypes (paranoid, disorganized, catatonic, undifferentiated, and residual).
  • Personality Disorders - The first important change is that PDs are no longer diagnosed on a separate axis. Despite the efforts of the DSM-5 PD workgroup, the ten "official" PD diagnoses remain unchanged from DSM-IV.
  • Anxiety Disorders and Obsessive-Compulsive Disorders - the former DSM-IV category of Anxiety Disorders has become three separate categories in DSM-5. 1. Anxiety Disorders 2. Obsessive-Compulsive Disorders 3. Trauma and Stressor-Related Disorders

For more information

Book Reviews
Basic InformationVideosLinksBook Reviews
Related Topics
Follow us on Twitter!

Find us on Facebook!

This website is certified by Health On the Net Foundation. Click to verify.This site complies with the HONcode standard for trustworthy health information:
verify here.

Powered by CenterSite.Net